Draft

Screen shot 2015-03-18 at 4.53.54 PM

The man on TV dips his hand into a bucket of blue birthdays. Mother yelps after she sees mine written on the second ball. I say, “It’s alright, it means Benny can stay,” but she still hasn’t managed to look at me.

8 Replies to “Draft”

  1. I agree with Jenn; that first line is so full of complexity and meaning. It really packs a punch. And I also love the history – does this refer to something in your own family?

  2. “The man on TV dips his hand into a bucket of blue birthdays.” What a horrible disconnect between the ceremonial trappings and the reality facing those chosen. Agree with Christine, I love the historical glimpse.

Tell me about it.

