21. The Book I Tell People I’ve Read, But Haven’t

Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf
At Swim, Two Boys by Jamie O’Neill

I’ve picked up Mrs. Dalloway six times to try to finally and officially say I’ve read it without that pesky asterisk at the end of the statement. I just can’t do it.

If you read my Day 11 entry, you know I have an unpopular view of classic books. Mrs. Dalloway is the book I was thinking of when I wrote that entry. I understand that Virginia Woolf was introducing a new style of writing with the book. I understand that it was notable at the time for its feminist leanings and its stream-of-consciousness style. It just doesn’t make very good reading in this time in my humble opinion. Or as I write in my Goodreads review:

Torturous. Just buy the freaking flowers, Mrs. Dalloway!

The other book I haven’t been able to finish, but still say I read is At Swim, Two Boys by Jamie O’Neill. This one I admit with a little shame. You’d think a gay historical love story set in Ireland would be right up my alley, but the book is written in a dialect that I have a hard time focusing on for longer than a page. I’ve tried three times to get through it. Despite many people telling me I should stick with it, I have been unable to.

4 Replies to “21. The Book I Tell People I’ve Read, But Haven’t”

Tell me about it.

