14. The Book That Made Me Cry (A Lot)

Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry

Forget the romance-y mini-series. This is probably my favorite book in  years. One of the hardest things to do in fiction writing is to flush out the personalities of a large cast of characters. I seriously cried three times when three different characters moved on from the pages of the story. I am not a crier. I found myself smiling at the book saying to myself “Oh, that is just like him.” In a nutshell, it’s the story of retired Texas rangers, who must start over again when their military unit is disbanded by the government. They choose to drive cattle to the promised land, Montana. Along the way, they meet bandits, Indians, Indian bandits and bandit snakes. Yes, there are love stories in it, but they are very subtle and not at all cliché. If you haven’t read this book, read it next thing.

Tell me about it.

