6. The Book I’ve Read the Most

A Good Man Is Hard To Find by Flannery O’Connor

Every time I pick up this book I marvel at the horrible situations and awful people she writes about. A family encountering a serial killer on the expressway. A bible salesman who steals a woman’s prosthetic limb. By the end of each short story, the reader is left to determine which characters were the more moral. Just amazing the twists she plants in every story.

Considering these stories were written by a very religious southern woman in the 50s and 60s, I was amazed at where she took her characters and the morality she expressed through her plotlines. She’s not preachy or heavy handed with her points; she simply takes the reins of a moral situation and shows the reader what would happen to the world if people didn’t behave nicely toward one another.

I should warn that there is some inappropriate vocabulary in her work. I don’t agree with it. I see her stories as more of a time capsule of a mindset that we have somewhat moved on from, thankfully.

 

2 Replies to “6. The Book I’ve Read the Most”

Tell me about it.

