1. The Book Series I Wish Would End Already

I recently learned November is National Blog Posting month, a feature that runs alongside National Novel Writing Month. The challenge is to post an entry every day in the month of November. I was pretty apathetic about the idea because I’m helping out with yeah write’s November writing contest all month. Then, I found this Challenge today.

Write about books every day? No problem.

I’m an avid reader. I’ve run my own book club for 11 years. On my Goodreads page, I have 13 years of book reviews just waiting for me to use as blog fodder. Plus I’ll still have time to help out with yeah write’s awesome festivities! Hooray!

DAY 1. – A  book series you wish would just end already.

That’s easy: Jasper Fforde’s Thursday Next series starting with The Eyre Affair. It was the sole reason I made a shelf in Goodreads called “ugh make it stop.”

Here’s what I wrote on April 26, 2007:

I can see where other people would find merit in this series. I am not one of those people. I find it overly complex and cutesy. Honestly, it made me feel pretty stupid. I could sense when I was reading a literary joke, but I didn’t know most of the references. I am pretty well read, I must say, and I wasn’t laughing. I feel like this book is meant only for the enjoyment of professors of English, because only they would appreciate the wit.

Did you read the Thursday Next books? DId you enjoy them? Then feel free to change my mind in the comments!

14 Replies to “1. The Book Series I Wish Would End Already”

  1. I read almost all of the Thursday Next books but it was difficult when I didn’t recognize the literary references. I ended up liking the nursery crime series better.

      1. It’s been awhile since I’ve read them but they seemed to be easier reads. Maybe it was just the simplicity of actually knowing all of the literary references…..

  2. I see you are reading The Shining now. I had forgotten that was written by Stephen King. I used to be an avid Stephen King reader, and so were my son and daughter as they grew up. I so remember The Shining, both book and movie. I have never read a book or seen a movie as scary.

    I remember I was reading The Shining at the time my husband and I split up. I was home alone with two young children. I would read it only during the day because it was to scary to read at night. But then I got to a point when I couldn’t put it down……no how much I was scaring myself!

    1. The book goes so much further into the history of the hotel and the instability of the Torrance family! It’s incredible how rich it is. The movie dumbs it down quite a bit – but it’s still good!

      I have learned not to read it before bed anymore. Too many freaky dreams! Thanks for reading, Karuna!

  3. Wow Nate, you’re really busy these days. 🙂 What you doing helping with the yeah write people? (I’m just a nosey parker). Looking forward to reading you every day.
    Yes, I once picked up on of Jasper Fforde’s books, put it down pretty quickly for the reasons you mentioned above. Never been tempted again.

    1. I’m a contributing writer for them. And they’ve employed my Excel skills for the contest.

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who couldn’t deal with Thursday Next. They’re well written; they’re just not for me.

  4. Hiya, thanks for the shoutout and good luck with the challenge! Trying to post every day is certainly hard work, but I also found it really rewarding and of course, what could be better than talking about books? 🙂

    Also, I think it’s super awesome that you have your own book club!

Tell me about it.

