3. Let’s Talk About the Red Wedding, People.

But, you know, without spoilers.

Although it’s probably not the longest book I’ve read in my life, I know the longest book I’ve read in the last ten years is A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin (Book #3 in the Song of Fire and Ice series). The 1,128 pages flew by. That’s the hallmark of a good story, I think—length doesn’t matter in the least if the story is gripping. Here’s my entire Goodreads review:

Edge-of-my-seat reading. So much unbelievable stuff happened. Absolutely no spoilers in this review. I hope people don’t wait for season three of the HBO series to read this book. It’s one of those slowly unfolding stories that can only be paced correctly in writing. Without the backstory of the characters from the first two books, the events in this installment wouldn’t be nearly as explosive. Everyone tells me that the rest of the series disappoints. I don’t know if that’s true; but the build-up to this book was totally worth it.

Before reading this series, I stayed far far away from fantasy. In fact, several coworkers at the bookstore I worked at recommended this series to me over the years. But I would always shake my head and say, “I don’t do fantasy.” When I finally picked up the first book, I couldn’t stop reading. Within two weeks, I was ripping through this third book. As you can tell, I was blown away.

Anyone who’s read the book or watched the series knows the devastating events entombed within. It is, by far, my favorite installment in the series.

And judging by this video, people did wait until the series. BEWARE! The video has spoilers.

4 thoughts on “3. Let’s Talk About the Red Wedding, People.

  1. isaac Aimov is more Science Fiction rather than fantasy (in my opinon). Fantasy as a genre has lots of sub-species too. But as will everything, some you can love others you can leave out in the rain till the moulder and die the slow horrible death rotting one page at a time in a swamp of miasmic goo ….oops, got carried away there 🙂

  2. I’m so glad you got to discover Fantasy – I know it conjures up images of Lord of the Rings rip offs, but there are some amazing books out there in the Fantasy genre and I’m with you, Song of Ice and Fire is just stellar.

    Personally I found the later books to be to spread out, too many POV characters, too many new characters for that matter, but that’s just me. I know lots of people love all the books.

    Do you think you’ll try more fantasy now?

    1. I read Song of Swords 5 or 6 years ago, and yes I’ve branched out a little. I’ve learned, like all other genres, there’s a lot of poorly written fantasy out there. Also, I so can’t deal with Isaac Asimov.

Tell me about it.

